Listen, Think, Learn & Enjoy . . .
Home » About Us » Governors


Welcome to the Governors’ page on the Warren Park Primary School website.

The role of the school Governor is often misunderstood. We do not manage the day to day running of the school that is the responsibility of the Headteacher and senior management We also oversee the development of the school, with the main aim being to always provide a high standard of education for all pupils, of all abilities.

The role of the Governing Body must focus on three core responsibilities. We should:

  • ensure that our school has a clear vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of the staff
  • oversee the financial performance of the school, making sure we get value for money and stay in budget.

In addition, we act as a ‘critical friend’ to the school, we recruit and performance manage the Headteacher, we develop, maintain and review school policies and we ensure the school meets its statutory responsibilities.

We meet at least twice a term as a whole Governing Body with areas of responsibilities.

The Warren Park Governing Body has been constituted with 10 members, in six categories;

1 Headteacher – Mrs Elizabeth Cooper
1 Staff member – Miss Jo Tester
1 Local authority – Mrs Nicola Scullard
2 Parent – Mr Chris Purnell and Mrs Lauren Bravington
2 Partnership – Mrs Helen Fisk and Mr Ian Hiscutt
3 Co-opted – Mrs Lynne Lofting, Mrs Gemma Jones and a vacancy

We feel this is the right makeup and number to serve this school effectively. Each member brings their own unique qualities and view points, and each has their own individual responsibilities to uphold, which often involves extra visits into school. Each member contributes to discussions and has one vote. All decisions made by this process are the joint responsibility of the Governing Body.

Your Governing Body is made up of local people who freely volunteer their time to support this school in the excellent job it is doing for our children. We believe every child matters and are happy to be part of this school and this community, to promote the ‘Warren Park’ way for the betterment of all.

Governors Newsletter – Jan 24



Governor Type

Term From

Term To

Additional Information


Mrs Elizabeth Cooper Headteacher Head Teacher
Mrs Helen Fisk Partnership governor 06 Jan 2019 5 Jan 2023 Forum Rep
Pupil Premium
Behaviour & Attendance
English & Maths
Leadership Team
Mrs Lynne Lofting Co-opted governor 06 Jan 2019 05 Jan 2023
Mr Chris Purnell Parent governor 17 Dec 2021 17 Dec 2025 Vice Chair
Year 6 Progress inc. SATs
Mrs Nicola Scullard Local Authority governor 27 Sep 2021 26 Sep 2025 Chairperson
Miss Jo Tester Staff governor 20 Mar 2023
Mrs Lauren Bravington Parent governor 20 Mar 2023
Mrs Gemma Jones Co-opted governor 24 Apr 2023
Mr Ian Hiscutt Partnership governor 10 Jul 2023
Mrs Angela Armstrong Co-opted governor 14 Nov 2022 11 Oct 2023 Resigned

Register of Governor’s Interests



Name Name of Business Including:

  • governor elsewhere (please include school name)
  • related / married to member of staff (please include staff name)
  • employed at school
Nature of Business Nature of Interest Date of Appointment or Acquisition Date of Cessation of Interest Date of Entry
Mrs Helen Fisk Nil 19/10/2022
Mrs Elizabeth Cooper Employed at school

Park Families


Board of Governors

01/09/16 26/09/2022
Mrs Lynne Lofting Employed at school


St.Clare’s Pre School

Deputy Headteacher

Committee Member




Mr Chris Purnell Milton Cross Academy

Married to staff member.



Wife is an SEMH LSA



16/09/2022 17/10/2022
Mrs Nicola Scullard Nil 13/11/2022
Mrs Angela Armstrong Nil 14/11/2022 08/11/2022
Miss Jo Tester Employed at school Teacher 20/03/2023
Mrs Lauren Bravington
Mr Ian Hiscutt

Governor Attendance Record For the Academic Year 2023/2024

Name Number of meetings the governor should have attended Number of meetings attended Attendance rate (%) Name Number of meetings the governor should have attended Number of meetings attended Attendance rate (%)
Mrs Elizabeth Cooper 3 3 100% Mr Ian Hiscutt 3 3 100%
Mrs Helen Fisk 3 2 67% Mr Chris Purnell 3 2 67%
Miss Jo Tester 3 3 100% Mrs Lauren Bravington 3 3 100%
Mrs Lynne Lofting 3 2 67% Mrs Gemma Jones 3 2 67%
Mrs Nicola Scullard 3 3 100%

Governor Attendance Record For the Academic Year 2022/2023

Name Number of meetings the governor should have attended Number of meetings attended Attendance rate (%) Name Number of meetings the governor should have attended Number of meetings attended Attendance rate (%)
Mrs Elizabeth Cooper 9 9 100% Mrs Beryl Francis 9 7 78%
Mrs Helen Fisk 9 7 78% Mr Chris Purnell 9 4 44%
Miss Jo Tester 4 4 100% Mrs Angela Armstrong 7 6 86%
Mrs Lynne Lofting 9 9 100% Mrs Lauren Bravington 4 3 75%
Mrs Nicola Scullard 9 7 78% Mrs Gemma Jones 3 2 66%
Mr Ian Hiscutt 1 1 100%
Mrs Anna Hele 5 5 100% Mrs Joanne Rankin 4 1 25%
Mr Anthony Denton 3 0 0% Ms Chelsea Easton 4 1 25%
Mr Terry Nolan 4 2 50%